Journalistic Prize Bonanza!

The Press Union of Liberia (PUL) has concluded its Annual Excellence Awards Night, a once a year event.

 Several journalists walked away with various awards after they were announced winners at this year’s Awards Night held at the Paynesville Town Hall, Montserrado County on Friday, 9 August 2019.

The 2019 Awards Committee was headed by Journalist Horatio Bobby Willie, of the defunct Star Radio and former Vice President of the Sports Writer Association of Liberia, and Co-Chair by Madam Elizabeth Hoff former President of the Press Union of Liberia, George Kennedy formerly of the Daily Observer Newspaper, veteran female journalists Tete Karneh, formerly of the Liberia Broadcasting System and now Communications Director of Global Bank Liberia Limited, Weah Karpeh formerly of United Nations Mission In Liberia (UNMIL) , Patrick Flomo  formerly of the Liberia Broadcasting System as well as Journalist Jarlawah A. Tonpo, Former Correspondent of the British base dissolved West Africa Magazine, who serve as ex- official on the Committee.

The committee dished out awards in several categories; namely, Legislative, Judiciary, Human Rights and Land Rights Reporting. Others were Investigative, Developmental, Sports, Humanitian, Extractive Industry, Environmental, Health and Women Rights Reporting.

This year’s award ceremony saw about 42 Journalists and media entities winning award including, Daily Observer as the Newspaper of the year, LNTV, Television station of the year, Prime FM Radio Station of the year, KMTV online TV Station of the of the year, Philip Wesseh won the all-time life achiever awards and Anthony Stephens of Power FM/TV Journalist of the year, including fifteen Community Radio Stations that won awards in the fifteen Community Radio Stations categories, among others.

On the individual scene witnessed Fabien Kwiah of State Radio LBS emerging as best newscaster of the year, Christopher Walker of Front Page Africa Newspaper as Sports Reporter of the year, Bettie Johnson Mbayo of Front Page Africa Newspaper as Gender Reporter of the year, Musa Kanneh of Truth FM as Legislative Reporter of the year, Anthony Stephens of Power FM/TV as both Development and Investigative reporter of the year, Moses Garzeawu as Business Reporter of the year, Julius Konton as Executive Mansion reporter of the year and ELBC’s Grand Bassa County Correspondent Simpson Davis as the Humanitarian reporter of the among other.

The 2019 Awards Night was held at the Paynesville City Town Hall, Montserrado County on Friday, 9 August 2019. Journalists and invitees were dressed in their best that rainbowed the occasion. 

comments powered by Disqus